Tor.com

Along the Saltwise Sea

The Up-and-Under#2

A. Deborah Baker

Along the Saltwise Sea

For readers of Kelly Barnhill and Cat Valente's Fairyland books, adventure and danger lurk Along the Saltwise Sea in this new book by Seanan McGuire's latest open pseudonym, A. Deborah Baker.

Be sure to explore the myriad wonders that can be found Along the Saltwise Sea.

After climbing Over the Woodward Wall and making their way across the forest, Avery and Zib found themselves acquiring some extraordinary friends in their journey through the Up-and-Under.

After staying the night, uninvited, at a pirate queen’s cottage in the woods, the companions find themselves accountable to its owner, and reluctantly agree to work off their debt as her ship sets sail, bound for lands unknown. But the queen and her crew are not the only ones on board, and the monsters at sea aren’t all underwater.

The friends will need to navigate the stormy seas of obligation and honor on their continuing journey along the improbable road

Writing as A. Deborah Baker, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Seanan McGuire takes our heroes Avery and Zib (and their friends Niamh and the Crow Girl) on a high seas adventure, with pirates and queens and all the dangers of the deep as they continue their journey through the Up-and-Under on their quest for the road that will lead them home....

Welcome to a world of talking trees and sarcastic owls, of dangerous mermaids and captivating queens in this exceptional tale for readers who are young at heart in this companion book to McGuire's critically-acclaimed Middlegame and the sequel to Over the Woodward Wall.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

choose your format

e-Book

Tor/Forge
Tordotcom
e-Book
On Sale: 10/12/2021
ISBN: 9781250768278
ISBN10: 1250768276
0.00 x 0.00 inches , 208 Pages

Hardcover

Tor/Forge
Tordotcom
Hardcover
ISBN: 9781250768285
ISBN10: 1250768284
5.43 x 8.09 inches , 208 Pages

Digital Audio

Macmillan Audio
Macmillan Audio
Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781250819154
ISBN10: 1250819156
0.00 x 0.00 inches

About the Author

A. DEBORAH BAKER is a pen-name of SEANAN McGUIRE, the author of Middlegame, the Hugo, Nebula, Alex and Locus Award-winning Wayward Children series, the October Daye series, the InCryptid...

Read more

REVIEWS

Praise for Over the Woodward Wall:

"With nods to The Wizard of Oz and Through the Looking Glass, readers of portal fantasy and McGuire’s Wayward Children series will love this unsettling and imaginative adventure."—Buzzfeed on Over the Woodward Wall

"An experimental companion to McGuire’s intricate novel Middlegame, Over the Woodward Wall first came to life as a middle grade story that serves as a pop culture touchstone for the characters in that adult novel. It’s also a story by a master in its own right."—Den of Geek on Over the Woodward Wall

Over the Woodward Wall is delectable... It’s filled with adventure and wisdom.” —Locus


"With lyrical prose and deep stores of emotion, this grown-up fairy tale works on every level." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"[Over the Woodward Wall is] a peculiar but often profound piece of metafiction whose emotional landscape offers more riches than its physical one." —Kirkus Reviews

"Teens will relish the adventure, remarkable creatures, and clever wordplay in Avery and Zib's story."—Booklist

More praise for the author:

"Has an uncanny knack for taking the worst things that lurk in the shadows and weaving them into an absolute delight."—Becky Chambers on Middlegame

"A mini-masterpiece of portal fantasy—a jewel of a book that deserves to be shelved with Lewis Carroll's and C. S. Lewis' classics"—NPR on Every Heart a Doorway

"One of the smartest writers around."—Charlaine Harris on Every Heart a Doorway