Tor.com

Along the Saltwise Sea

The Up-and-Under#0

A. Deborah Baker

Along the Saltwise Sea

For fans of Kelly Barnhill and Cat Valente's Fairyland books, adventure and danger lurk Along the Saltwise Sea in this new audiobook by Seanan McGuire's latest open pseudonym, A. Deborah Baker.

How many children can fit in a bucket?
That's one of many such questions that — improbably enough — get answered in this delightful sequel to Over the Woodward Wall.

Writing as A. Deborah Baker, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Seanan McGuire takes our heroes Avery and Zib (and their friends Niamh and the Crow Girl) on a high seas adventure, with pirates and queens and all the dangers of the deep as they continue their journey through the Up-and-Under on their quest for the road that will lead them home....

Welcome to a world of talking trees and sarcastic owls, of dangerous mermaids and captivating queens in this exceptional tale for listeners who are young at heart in this companion audiobook to McGuire's critically-acclaimed Middlegame and the sequel to Over the Woodward Wall.

A Macmillan Audio production from Tordotcom

choose your format

Digital Audio

Macmillan Audio
Macmillan Audio
Digital Audio
On Sale: 10/12/2021
ISBN: 9781250819154
ISBN10: 1250819156
0.00 x 0.00 inches

Hardcover

Tor/Forge
Tordotcom
Hardcover
ISBN: 9781250768285
ISBN10: 1250768284
5.43 x 8.09 inches , 208 Pages

e-Book

Tor/Forge
Tordotcom
e-Book
ISBN: 9781250768278
ISBN10: 1250768276
0.00 x 0.00 inches , 208 Pages

About the Author

A. DEBORAH BAKER is a pen-name of SEANAN McGUIRE, the author of Middlegame, the Hugo, Nebula, Alex and Locus Award-winning Wayward Children series, the October Daye series, the InCryptid...

Read more

REVIEWS

Praise for Over the Woodward Wall:

"With nods to The Wizard of Oz and Through the Looking Glass, readers of portal fantasy and McGuire’s Wayward Children series will love this unsettling and imaginative adventure."—Buzzfeed on Over the Woodward Wall

"An experimental companion to McGuire’s intricate novel Middlegame, Over the Woodward Wall first came to life as a middle grade story that serves as a pop culture touchstone for the characters in that adult novel. It’s also a story by a master in its own right."—Den of Geek on Over the Woodward Wall

"With lyrical prose and deep stores of emotion, this grown-up fairy tale works on every level." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"[Over the Woodward Wall is] a peculiar but often profound piece of metafiction whose emotional landscape offers more riches than its physical one." —Kirkus Reviews

"Teens will relish the adventure, remarkable creatures, and clever wordplay in Avery and Zib's story."—Booklist

More praise for the author:

"Has an uncanny knack for taking the worst things that lurk in the shadows and weaving them into an absolute delight."—Becky Chambers on Middlegame

"A mini-masterpiece of portal fantasy—a jewel of a book that deserves to be shelved with Lewis Carroll's and C. S. Lewis' classics"—NPR on Every Heart a Doorway

"One of the smartest writers around."—Charlaine Harris on Every Heart a Doorway