Lost in the Moment and Found

Wayward Children#8

Seanan McGuire

Lost in the Moment and Found

Winner: 2022 Hugo Award for Best Series

A 2023 Indie Next Pick!

A LibraryReads Hall of Fame Inductee!

A young girl discovers an infinite variety of worlds in this standalone tale in the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Wayward Children series from Seanan McGuire, Lost in the Moment and Found

Welcome to the Shop Where the Lost Things Go.

If you ever lost a sock, you’ll find it here.
If you ever wondered about a favorite toy from childhood... it’s probably sitting on a shelf in the back.
And the headphones that you swore this time you’d keep safe? You guessed it….

Antoinette has lost her father. Metaphorically. He’s not in the Shop, and she’ll never see him again. But when Antsy finds herself lost (literally, this time), she discovers that however many doors open for her, leaving the Shop for good might not be as simple as it sounds.

And stepping through those doors exacts a price.

Lost in the Moment and Found tells us that childhood and innocence, once lost, can never be found.

choose your format


Tor Publishing Group
On Sale: 01/10/2023
ISBN: 9781250213631
ISBN10: 1250213630
5.65 x 8.50 inches , 160 Pages

Digital Audio

Macmillan Audio
Macmillan Audio
Digital Audio
ISBN: 9781250883162
ISBN10: 1250883164
0.00 x 0.00 inches


Tor Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781250213648
ISBN10: 1250213649
0.00 x 0.00 inches , 208 Pages

About the Author

SEANAN McGUIRE is the author of the Hugo, Nebula, Alex and Locus Award-winning Wayward Children series, the October Daye series, the InCryptid series, and other works. She also writes darker...

Read more


Praise for Lost in the Moment and Found

“The eighth book (after Where the Drowned Girls Go) of McGuire’s “Wayward Children” series is a haunting adventure about the loss of childhood innocence and ultimately, about finding strength and belonging. ” —Library Journal, starred review

“Lost in the Moment and Found is imbued with the author’s deep sensitivity, as well as her sense of mystery and adventure. Seanan McGuire is an exceptional writer, and the Wayward Children series continues to be a revelatory experience for readers old and new.” —Locus

“Hugo Award winner McGuire manages to make some extreme tonal shifts work together beautifully.… Antsy’s emotional coming-of-age will have readers hooked.” —Publishers Weekly

“Antsy is a pleasing addition to the lore of Wayward Children, promising plenty of intrigue to come.” —Booklist

“I am always in awe of the ways in which McGuire can deliver whimsical magical worlds, while also discussing complex themes…” —Lili, Utopia State of Mind

Praise for the Wayward Children series

“The series as a whole has wonderfully internally consistent world building and characters, no matter how far in the background, with complexity and depth.” —Booklist

“A great read for middle and high schoolers who enjoy themes of friendship and family, and a magical world of unicorns and centaurs.” —School Library Journal on Across the Green Grass Fields

“A mini-masterpiece of portal fantasy that deserves to be shelved with Lewis Carroll's and C. S. Lewis' classics.” —NPR on Every Heart a Doorway

“Anyone who appreciates off-the-beaten-path adventures will be swept away.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review, on Across the Green Grass Fields

“One of the most extraordinary stories I've ever read.” —V. E. Schwab on Every Heart a Doorway