Publishing Editorial Spotlight #5

Kij Johnson, Gwyneth Jones, Ian McDonald, Caitlin R. Kiernan, Ellen Klages Publishing Editorial Spotlight #5 Publishing Editorial Spotlight #5 is a curated selection of novellas by editor Jonathan Strahan

This collection includes:
The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe by Kij Johnson
Passing Strange by Ellen Klages
Agents of Dreamland by Caitlin R. Kiernan
Proof of Concept of Gwyneth Jones
Time Was by Ian McDonald

Professor Vellitt Boe teaches at the prestigious Ulthar Women’s College. When one of her most gifted students elopes with a dreamer from the waking world, Vellitt must retrieve her in Kij Johnson’s The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe

Inspired by the pulps, film noir, and screwball comedy, Passing Strange is a story as unusual and complex as San Francisco itself from World Fantasy Award winning author Ellen Klages,

Agents of Dreamland is a new Lovecraftian horror novella from award-winning author Caitlín R. Kiernan.

Proof of Concept is an action-adventure science fiction novella from Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author Gwyneth Jones. In a far future Earth, blind hope keeps the populace contented.

Ian McDonald weaves a love story across an endless expanse with his science fiction novella Time Was

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

choose your format

e-Book Bundle

e-Book Bundle
On Sale: 04/30/2019
ISBN: 9781250232335
ISBN10: 1250232333
0.00 x 0.00 inches , 705 Pages

About the Author

KIJ JOHNSON is an American fantasy writer noted for her adaptations of Japanese myths and folklore. Her story "Ponies" won the 2011 Nebula Award for Best Short Story. Her story "Fox Magic"...

Read more

GWYNETH JONES is a writer and critic of genre fiction. She's won the Tiptree award, two World Fantasy awards, the Arthur C. Clarke award, the British Science Fiction Association short story award,...

Read more

Ian McDonald was born in 1960 in Manchester, England, to an Irish mother and a Scottish father. He moved with his family to Northern Ireland in 1965. He has won the Locus Award, the...

Read more

CAITLÍN R. KIERNAN is the author of over a dozen science fiction and dark fantasy works, including Agents of Dreamland, many comic books; and more than two hundred published short stories,...

Read more

ELLEN KLAGES is the author of the acclaimed historical novels: The Green Glass Sea, which won the Scott O’Dell Award, and the New Mexico Book Award; and White Sands, Red Menace,...

Read more


"A remarkable accomplishment that repays rereading."—Pamela Sargent on The Dream-Quest of Vellit Boe

"Ellen Klages's love for queer San Francisco is evident in every line: its history, its mystery, and its people in all their variety and glory. I smiled as I read. You will, too."—Nicola Griffith on Passing Strange

“Kiernan’s writing—starkly visual, tongue in cheek and disturbingly visceral—carries the day.”—The New York Times on Agents of Dreamland

"A delicious portrayal of what it feels like when that nagging voice in your head telling you something is wrong is in fact your only ally."—The Washington Post on Proof of Concept

"With echoes of H. G. Wells’s The Time Machine and replete with the inimitable scent of used bookstores, Time Was weaves an exquisite spell of love, war and quantum physics that is timeless in its appeal. A scientific romance in the most evocative sense of the word."—Nina Allan