Tor.com

Tordotcom Publishing 2021 Debut Sampler

S. Qiouyi Lu, Lee Mandelo, Freya Marske, Aimee Ogden, Zin E. Rocklyn, Andrew Kelly Stewart, Veronica Schanoes

Tordotcom Publishing 2021 Debut Sampler

Tordotcom Publishing is proud to present a sneak peak of its 2021 debut novel and novella authors.

In the tradition of Italo Calvino’s Invisible Cities, debut author S. Qiouyi Lu has written a multifaceted story of borders, power, diaspora, and transformation with In the Watchful City.

Lee Mandelo's debut Summer Sons is a sweltering, queer Southern Gothic that crosses Appalachian street racing with academic intrigue, all haunted by hungry ghost.

Red White & Royal Blue
meets Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell in debut author Freya Marske’s A Marvellous Light, featuring an Edwardian England full of magic, contracts, and conspiracies.

In Aimee Ogden's Sun-Daughters, Sea-Daughters, one woman will travel to the stars and beyond to save her beloved in this lyrical space opera that reimagines The Little Mermaid.

Flowers for the Sea is a dark, dazzling debut novella from Zin E. Rocklyn that reads like Rosemary's Baby by way of Octavia E. Butler

In Burning Girls and Other Stories, Veronica Schanoes crosses borders and genres with stories of fierce women at the margins of society burning their way toward the center. This debut collection introduces readers to a fantasist in the vein of Karen Russell and Kelly Link, with a voice all her own.

A Canticle for Leibowitz meets The Hunt for Red October in We Shall Sing a Song into the Deep, a lyrical and page-turning coming-of-age exploration of duty, belief, and the post-apocalypse from breakout newcomer Andrew Kelly Stewart.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

choose your format

e-Book

Tor/Forge
Tordotcom
e-Book
On Sale: 04/13/2021
ISBN: 9781250830159
ISBN10: 125083015X
0.00 x 0.00 inches , 100 Pages

About the Author

S. Qiouyi Lu writes, translates, and edits between two coasts of the Pacific. Ær work has appeared in several award-winning venues. Æ edits the magazine Arsenika and runs microverses,... Read more

LEE MANDELO is a writer, critic, and occasional editor whose fields of interest include speculative and queer fiction, especially when the two coincide. They have been a past nominee for various...

Read more

Freya Marske is one of the co-hosts of Be the Serpent, a Hugo Award-nominated podcast about SFF, fandom, and literary tropes, and her work has sold to Analog and been shortlisted for Best Fantasy... Read more

Aimee Ogden is an exciting emerging author with more than two dozen short story publications in venues such as Analog, Shimmer, Orson Scott Card's Intergalactic Medicine Show, and The... Read more

Zin E. Rocklyn is a contributor to Bram Stoker-nominated Nox Pareidolia, Kaiju Rising II: Reign of Monsters, Brigands: A Blackguards Anthology, and Forever Vacancy... Read more

ANDREW KELLY STEWART's writing spans the literary, science fiction, fantasy, and the supernatural genres. His short fiction has appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction and... Read more

Veronica Schanoes is an American author of fantasy stories and an associate professor in the department of English at Queens College, CUNY. Her novella Burning Girls was nominated for...

Read more