Tor.com

Tordotcom Publishing 2022 Debut Sampler

Scotto Moore, Scotto Moore, Marion Deeds, Malcolm Devlin, Rachel Swirsky, Joma West, Hiron Ennes, Aimee Pokwatka

Tordotcom Publishing 2022 Debut Sampler

Tordotcom Publishing is proud to present a sneak peek of its 2022 debut novel and novella authors.

In modern day Los Angeles, a shadowy faction led by the Governor of California develops the arcane art of combat linguistics, planting the seeds of a future totalitarian empire in Scotto Moore's Battle of the Linguist Mages.

Marion Deed's Comeuppance Served Cold is a hard-boiled historical fantasy of criminality and magic, couched in the glamour of Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries.

In the tradition of Mira Grant and Stephen Graham Jones, Malcolm Devlin’s And Then I Woke Up is a creepy, layered, literary story about false narratives and their ability to divide us.

Celebrated short fiction author Rachel Swirsky returns with January Fifteenth, a gut-wrenching, near-future novella humanizing the experimental, practically science fictional policy of universal basic income.

Margaret Atwood meets Kazuo Ishiguro in Joma West's Face, a sci-fi domestic drama that reimagines race and class in a genetically engineered society fed by performative fame.

Meet the cure for the human disease in this dark and infectious debut from Hiron Ennes. Leech is Edgar Allen Poe mixed with Ridley Scott, Jeff VanderMeer with a side of Charlotte Brontë, The Thing from the thing's point of view. It will worm its way deep into your bones and hold you hostage to your own insatiable human fascination.

Pepper Rafferty has lived her entire adult life knowing two things: that the famous artist, Ula Frost's, paintings are purported to harbor magical powers and that Ula Frost is the woman who gave her away. Aimee Pokwatka's Self-Portrait with Nothing is a heartstopping quest for truth written for a post-modern age with the world-melding of David Mitchell and the intimacy of Marilynn Robinson.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

choose your format

e-Book

Tor/Forge
Tordotcom
e-Book
On Sale: 03/08/2022
ISBN: 9781250871572
ISBN10: 1250871573
0.00 x 0.00 inches , 128 Pages

About the Author

Scotto Moore is a Seattle playwright, whose works include the black comedy H.P. Lovecraft: Stand-up Comedian!, the sci-fi adventures Duel of the Linguist Mages and interlace...

Read more

SCOTTO MOORE is a Seattle playwright, whose works include the black comedy H.P. Lovecraft: Stand-up Comedian!, the sci-fi adventures Duel of the Linguist Mages and interlace...

Read more

Marion Deeds was born in Santa Barbara, California and moved to northern California when she was five. She loves the redwoods, the ocean, dogs and crows.

She’s fascinated by the...

Read more

Malcolm Devlin’s stories have appeared in Black Static, Interzone, The Shadow Booth and Shadows and Tall Trees. His first collection, You Will Grow Into Them, was published by Unsung...

Read more

Rachel Swirsky lives in Portland, Oregon, where she roams happily under overcast skies with the hipsters. She holds an MFA from the Iowa Writers Workshop. Her fiction has appeared in venues...

Read more

Joma West is a third culture writer whose work straddles both fantasy and science fiction. Growing up bouncing between countries has given her work a certain displaced flavour and you can see many...

Read more

HIRON ENNES is a writer, musician, and student of medicine based in the Pacific Northwest. Their areas of interest include infectious disease, pathology, and anticapitalist healthcare reform. When...

Read more

Aimee Pokwatka grew up in Wheeling, West Virginia. She studied anthropology at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, and received her MFA in creative writing from Syracuse University. Her...

Read more